ASP 2018 Biennial Meeting

ASP 2018 Biennial Meeting: 12-15 May 2018

Abstract submission form now open (deadline March 14, 2018)

Registration now open (early registration deadline April 12, 2018)

Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Visit our conference mini-website for complete information.


The ASP Biennial Meeting is scheduled for May 12-15, 2018, at the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, a breathtaking venue with all state of the art accommodations ensuring an enjoyable and productive meeting.


Registration and abstract submission are now open!
Special rates are available for ASP members.


Now is the time to renew/consider ASP membership! 2018!


This meeting will feature, among other highlights:


Keynote lectures by:
Wolfgang Gaertner (Leipzig, Germany; Sunday, May 13)
Tayyaba Hasan (Boston, USA; Monday, May 14)
Rutao Cui (Boston, USA; Tuesday, May 15)


Celebratory symposium: 55 Years Photochemistry and Photobiology (Jean Cadet & Irene Kochevar, co-chairs; Monday, May 14).

Confirmed speakers: Ana Moore (Tempe, USA), Jim Cleaver (San Francisco, USA), Gonzalo Cosa (Montreal, Canada), David Kessel (Detroit, USA), John Spudich (Houston, USA)


ASP-ESP joint symposium: Cutaneous DNA damage: new insights and approaches from translational human studies (
Lesley Rhodes, Manchester, UK and Marcus Cooke, Miami, USA; co-chairs; Monday, May 14)
Confirmed speakers: Marcus Cooke (Miami, USA), Thierry Douki (Grenoble, France), Patrick Rochette (Quebec, Canada), Mike Kemp (Ohio, USA), Lesley Rhodes (Manchester, UK)


Special sessions that include:


• Organic and inorganic photochemistry of functional materials: A Panamerican perspective (Alec Greer, Lisa Kelly; co-chairs)

• Direct and Sensitized Photochemistry in Biological Molecules (Carlos Crespo, USA & Andrés Thomas, Argentina; co-chairs; May 13)

• UVA and Beyond: Frontiers in Photodamage and Photoprotection (Eduardo Ruvolo, Bayer, US & Iltefat Hamzavi, US; co-chairs; May 15)

• The skin exposome: From environmental exposure to biological response (Ariane Dimitrov, L’OREAL, France & Georg Wondrak, USA; co-chairs; May 15)

• ASP Associate member scientific symposium (chaired by the winners of the 2017 online symposium: Michael Pigula, Harvard Medical School & Regina DiScipio, Case Western Reserve University; May 13)


Other confirmed session chairs:
Thierry Douki, John-Stephen Taylor, Beth Gaillard, Patrick Rochette, Keith Cengel, Theresa Busch, Imran Rizvi, Jonathan Lovell, Jin Xie, Yu-Ying He, Mike Davies, Christian Schoeneich, Sherri McFarland, Edith (Phoebe) Glazer, Tadeusz Sarna, Xiaojing Yang, Wolfgang Gaertner, Frank Gasparro, Giorgia Miolo.


We are also moving forward planning other popular events such as the ASP Associate Member pizza party, career development workshops, industry exhibits and presentations etc.

Accepted abstracts will be published in a supplemental issue of ‘Photochemistry and Photobiology

2nd ASP Associate Online Symposium Summer 2017

Distinguished ASP Associate Members in Tampa, FL 2016;
together with Joanna Turner


The American Society for Photobiology is pleased to announce the winners of the second Associate Online Symposium !


Please visit:


Thank you for all the submissions!


The 2017 online symposium organizing committee
Sherri McFarland, Imran Rizvi, Jon Lovell, Joe Huang, Ashwini Ghogare, Richard Davis, Damilola Fajuyigbe & Joanna Turner (chair)

2017 ASP Presidential Evening Symposia: ‘Photo-excited States: From Tissue Damage to Photomedicine’



Come visit us in San Diego, exploring  the frontiers of research on photoexcited states and their mechanistic role in skin photodamage and photomedicine !


This ASP focus symposium gathers basic and translational researchers that will present cutting edge talks in high quality oral sessions held on two evenings.


Symposium I (Thursday, April 6, 2017, evening): ‘Excited states in skin and other tissue damage: Photodamage, photocarcinogenesis, and photochemoprevention’
6.30 p.m.: reception
7-10 p.m. scientific session (with dinner break)


This symposium examines the mechanistic role of excited states in mediating tissue damage (focusing on skin and solar exposure) and explores avenues for preventive and therapeutic intervention.

Confirmed Speakers:
Douglas E Brash, Therapeutic Radiology, Yale University
Zigang Dong, The Hormel Institute, The University of Minnesota
Jean Cadet, University of Sherbrooke; Editor, Photochemistry and Photobiology
Additional speakers to be selected from the submitted abstracts
Symposium II (Friday, April 7, 2017, evening): ‘Excited States in Photomedicine: from Mechanisms to Translation’
6.30 p.m.: reception
7-10 p.m. scientific session (with dinner break)


Activation of extrinsic photosensitizers and cellular biomolecules by visible light can trigger a complex array of biologic and physiologic processes.  These effects include changes in the balance of tumor cell death versus survival, the development of inflammation and anti-tumor immunity, and the remodeling of vascular microenvironment.  This symposium will explore exciting new developments in the mechanisms and application of photoexcited states in medicine.


Confirmed Speakers:
Conor L Evans, Wellman Center for Photomedicine, Harvard Medical School
Thomas S Mang, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
Tayyaba Hasan, Wellman Center for Photomedicine, Harvard Medical School
Additional speakers to be selected from the submitted abstracts




Event Venue: Spring Hill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
This brand new premier hotel is located at 900 Bayfront Court, San Diego, CA 92101 and will provide a vibrant setting to host the 2017 ASP Presidential Symposium.
For online reservations at the special group rate visit the hotel page on our 2017 meeting mini-site.


We are looking forward to an exciting ASP focus meeting in San Diego, CA.

With our warmest regards
Georg T. Wondrak, University of Arizona, ASP President
Keith A. Cengel, University of Pennsylvania, ASP Past president
Yu-Ying He, The University of Chicago, ASP President Elect
Theresa M. Busch, University of Pennsylvania, ASP Treasurer
ASP Secretariat

2016 Conference

2016-06-21 (3)

Click on Final Program to download.


Interactive searchable schedule on the  2016 conference mini site.

38th Meeting of ASP, Tampa Bay, Florida, May 21–26, 2016


If you want to contribute your own images taken during the meeting please send to ASP secretariat with short caption:


Seeing the Light: Pigment Cells, Their Responses, and the Generation of Diversity
October 5 – 8, 2016
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court , Baltimore, Maryland

Abstract submission and registration have been extended until 29 July, 2016.

Organized by The PanAmerican Society for Pigment Cell Research
Click here for meeting flyer. (PDF)


ESP Members 

ESP Travel Fellowships available to young photo biologists. For more information and application, please visit the page
These will be open to applications until March 31st 2016

ASP 1st Virtual Poster Symposium Winners!

The winners are in!!
Drumrolls please…….

  • Best combined poster and video: Rachel Murkett
  • Best poster: Marvin Pollum
  • Best video: Emma Briars
  • People’s prize overall: Joyce Liu

Congratulations to all our winners!

More information available on our symposium page.

New Membership System

Our new online membership system is now live.

You can join ASP online or renew your membership. Use the membership link in the menu tab.

Members can access the journal via member log in using the Journal Access link.

Note: For member log in, leading zeroes in the member number are no longer necessary. E.g., if your member number log in was 000734 it is now 734.

ASP Headquarters
1313 Dolley Madison Blvd.
Suite 402
McLean, VA 22101