Contact: Jack Murphy jack@bigvoicecomm.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

American Society for Photobiology Announces Its New Leaders

HERNDON, Va., August 28, 2024 - The American Society for Photobiology (ASP) named Sherri A. McFarland, Ph.D. of University of Texas, Arlington and Founder/CSO of PhotoDynamic, Inc. as its new President to serve from 2024 - 2026. McFarland succeeds Shiyong Wu, Ph.D. of Ohio University, who has completed his term and will continue to serve on the board as immediate past-president.

In addition to the rise of McFarland, the Society elected Ryan McCulla, Ph.D., St Louis University as President-elect. Additional executive leaders include Masaoki Kawasumi, MD, Ph.D., University of Washington and Theresa Busch, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania.

Jean Luc Ayitou, Ph.D., University of Illinois, Chicago and Andrés Durantini, Ph.D., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville are newly elected to the Board.

"It has been an honor to associate with Sherri over the years and see the influence she provides as an ambassador for the photobiological sciences," said Wu. "Her dynamic leadership and drive to get things done will be a major contributor in ASP's future success. I look forward to seeing what our organization will accomplish in the coming years under her leadership."

McFarland has been a long-standing member of the ASP since 2016, serving in many leadership capacities as a councilor, secretary and president elect. She brings years of experience to the position, including over 10 years as CEO/CSO and founder of PhotoDynamic Inc., and almost 20 years as a professor of chemistry and biochemistry.

"I am honored to be elected president of this great organization and hope to help it thrive for years to come," stated McFarland. "As president, I am committed to advancing our mission of promoting research in photobiology, integrating different photobiology disciplines, disseminating photobiology knowledge, mentoring the next generation of photobiologists, and providing information on photobiological aspects of national and international issues."

Councilors continuing to serve ASP include Mauricio Baptista, Ph.D., University of São Paulo, Huang Chiao (Joe) Huang, Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park, Dae Joon Kim, Ph.D., University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Girgis Obaid, Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas, José Robinson-Duggon, Ph.D., Universidad de Panamá, Andres Thomas, Ph.D., Argentinian National Research Council, Xiaojing Yang, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Youngjae You, Ph.D., University at Buffalo.

About the ASP

The American Society for Photobiology promotes research in photobiology, integration of different photobiology disciplines, dissemination of photobiology knowledge, and provides information on photobiological aspects of national and international issues. Membership entitles you to many benefits, among them online access to the journal Photochemistry and Photobiology.